# Allen M. Sumner (DD-692) Reunion Association

#### **OFFICERS**

#### President.

Frank DiBello

DIBELLOFP@AOL.COM

**1st Vice President** 

Dave Robson

robson29@bellsouth.net

**2nd Vice President** 

Pete Hart

phart va@hotmail.com

**Past President** 

Bob Kelly

B692@AOL.COM

**Secretary** 

Don Hayden

editor@dd-692.com

#### Treasurer

Pete Dromms the.chief@verizon.net

#### Chaplain

Bobby Moore

bobby moo 71222@gmail.com

## **Master-At-Arms**

Pete Dromms

the.chief@verizon.net

## Historian

Fred Willshaw fred@dd-692.com

#### **Editor**

Don Hayden editor@dd-692.com

## **Directors/Terms Expire**

H. Kelly Brown III

- 2018 -

kellyb@hal-pc.org

Joe Drabick

- 2019 -

josephdrabick@gmail.com

John Hruska

- 2020 -

jhruska@centuryline.net



# USS Allen M. Sumner (DD-692)

Reunion Association
Business Meeting Minutes
0900 Tuesday, 9 May 2017
Airport Hampton Hotel
Jacksonville, Fla.



**Officers Present:** President Frank DiBello, 1st Vice President Dave Robson, Secretary Don Hayden, Treasurer Pete Dromms, Past President Bob Kelly, Chaplain Bobby Moore, Alternate Master-at-Arms Pete Dromms and Historian Fred Willshaw

**Directors Present:** John Barry and Joe Drabick

**Directors not Present**: H. Kelly Brown III

Other Shipmates Present: Allen Anderson, Andy Anderson, Bernie Armstrong, Mike Backer, Daniel Barr, Colin Benporath, Terry Conaway, Arlan DeJongh, Francis Embrey, James Fredrickson, Bruce Fulbright, Jose Garcia, Bobby Haderer, Earl Hedenberg, Clyde Hightower, John Hruska, Ron Jovanovich, Scott Kopfstein, Kenneth Merryman, Dean Price, Jon Randall, Paul Rosskamp, Clifford Selig, Walter Spillman, Paul Stebbins, Dale Surber, Gary Whitehead, Gerald Williamson and Bill Wunderlin.

I. Call to order

Meeting called to order at 0900 by President Frank DiBello

II. Minutes of last meeting

Motion was made and seconded to waive reading of the minutes which were e-mailed to all reunion attendees prior to the meeting. Motion passed.

II. Treasurer's Report to board

A synopsis of the treasurer's report was given stating that the balance beginning 1 May 2016 was\$15,644.48, the total outflow as of 30 April 20127 was \$9,252.22 resulting in a net of \$6,392.46. A breakdown of Jacksonville reunion costs will be posted in an upcoming newsletter. A motion was made and seconded to accept the treasurer's report. Motion passed.

III. Old Business

No old business was discussed.

IV. New Business

A. Officers Election

Frank DiBello was nominated to serve as president. No other nominations were made. Motion made and seconded to elect Frank DiBello as president. Motion passed.

Dave Robson was nominated to serve as 1st vice president. No other nominations were made. Motion made and seconded to elect Dave Robson as 1st vice president. Motion passed.

Pete Hart was nominated to serve as 2nd vice president. No other nominations were made. Motion made and seconded to elect Pete Hart as 2nd vice president. Motion passed.

John Hruska was nominated to serve as director in a term expiring in 2020. No other nominations were made. Motion made and seconded to elect John Hruska to serve in a term expiring in 2020. Motion passed.

Pete Dromms was nominated to serve as treasurer. No other nominations were made. Motion made and seconded to elect Pete Dromms as treasurer. Motion passed

Don Hayden was nominated to serve as secretary. No other nominations were made. Motion made and seconded to elect Don Hayden as secretary. Motion passed.

#### B. Presidential Appointments

Bobby Moore was selected as chaplain, Pete Dromms was selected to replace H. Kelly Brown as Master-at-Arms and Fred Willshaw was selected to be historian. Dale Surber was selected to serve on the Committee to oversee the shipmate assistance fund along with Dave Robson and Jose Garcia. At the last business meeting there was discussion about the editor being a presidential appointee. A motion was made a seconded that that become the case and current editor Don Hayden was so appointed.

Article III, Section VII dealing with the duties of the Historian was changed to become Article III, Section VII, subsection a. and the editor position became subsection b.

C. Fred Willshaw, who has maintained the Sumner website for the past 19 years, announced he was giving up that responsibility and had contacted Ron Babuka, the son of a Sumner Plank Owner William Babuka to take it over. Babuka, a professor at Cornell University said he would fulfill the duties at no charge. After much discussion is was motioned and seconded to make Babuka an honorary member of the reunion association. Willshaw received a standing ovation for his service.

#### D. 2019 Reunion Location

Top three locations were Branson, Mo.; Nashville, Tenn. and San Diego, Calif. There were 39 total votes cast with Branson receiving 24 which was more than 50 percent of the vote. Branson will be the location for the 2019 reunion.

# V. Adjourn Business Meeting

Motion was made and seconded to adjourn meeting at 1030. Motion passed.

Submitted by: Donneld E. Hayden Secretary:	Date	18 May, 2017
Don Hayden		